General — TransplantLyfe

General

Chef Amanda’s Weekly Recipes

ChefAmandaTransplant Patient
Updated June 3, 2021 in General

As a chef I love sharing recipes and trying new things in the kitchen. I also know the different diet restrictions and changes we go thru during our transplant journey. So I wanted to sharing some of my recipes and some recipes I try from others in hopes to inspire or help others.

Please feel free to share some of your favorite recipes or foods that you love and have helped you.

Tagged:

1 - 30 of 54 Replies

• ChefAmandaTransplant Patient

Grilled Fish Tacos with Mango Salsa

Grilled Fish Tacos with Mango Salsa

Ingredients:

For the spice rub:

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp cayenne

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp black pepper

For the fish tacos:

1 mango, peeled and diced

1/2 cup diced tomatoes

1 tablespoon finely chopped jalapeno

1/3 cup diced red onion

1 tablespoon lime juice

1/3 cup roughly chopped cilantro leaves

Black pepper

Coconut oil

1 lb halibut filet

1 tbsp of the spice rub

4 corn tortillas

1 cup finely shredded cabbage

Directions:

For the spice rub:

In a bowl, combine all of the spices and mix together with a spoon. Reserve one tablespoon of the mixture for the fish, and save the rest in an airtight container

For the fish tacos:

1) Combine the mango, tomatoes, jalapeño, red onion, lime juice and cilantro leaves and mix well. Season with pepper, to taste.

2) Heat a grill or stovetop pan over medium heat. Drizzle a light coating of the coconut oil over the fish and rub on the tbsp. of blackening spice. 

3) Cook the fish on one side untouched for 4 minutes. Flip, and cook the other side for another 4 minutes. Remove from pan.

4) Warm the tortillas and keep in a tortilla warmer.

5) Break the fish apart with a fork into bite size chunks. Divide among the warm tortillas.

6) Top with the cabbage and mango salsa. Serve with wedges of lime.

February 10, 2021
  • osideguyOther

Yum yum !

February 10, 2021