Pancreas — TransplantLyfe

Pancreas

Tac levels

KarinExpert
Transplant Patient
Updated May 21, 2021 in Pancreas

What are your reco and optional tac levels? I am supposed to be above 6, and less than 10, w my two organs - if I did not have the pancreas I would be able to go down to 4 easily.

Over the past week I have had classic high tac side effects such as headache, nausea and a foggy mind - I even threw up a few times. I think what triggered the higher levels was food poisoning from my first dinner out in a year!!! Gave me diarrhea and the tac levels increased I am sure...

I wish there were an at hone test so one could self regulate / I actually decreased my dose by 33 percent after the third day w terrible headache and nausea but maybe not reco to do without bloods!!

1 - 17 of 17 Other Answers

• VeggiePoweredTransplant Patient

Hello so I am new to this. But my tac levels vary but normally 7-10 And i feel fine no side effects guess i am lucky 🤔?

March 14, 2021
  • KarinExpert
    Transplant Patient

That is great!!!

March 14, 2021
  • AnitaCare Partner

@Karin Good you raised this ... Tac levels and Tac dosage are a matter of concern as always ... and a tightrope walk even for the transplant doctors as well ... there are guidelines that advise analysis of variation in Tac levels (standard deviation) as higher deviation is not liked by the doctors ...

but you are right that an at home test would take so much worry off our minds.

March 15, 2021
  • AliEm14Expert
    Transplant Patient

My ideal is between 8 and 12. They’ve struggled with me because if I get 2mg I go too high but 1.5 and I go too low. I need like a 1.75mg pill!

usually I know now and can adjust my own dose just by how I’m feeling, but I’ve been calling my coordinator just to double check and then taking bets on how often I’m right (I’m always right)

March 15, 2021
  • DebTransplant Patient