General — TransplantLyfe

General

Has anyone been able to get Life Insurance?

KarinExpert
Transplant Patient
Updated May 20, 2021 in General

Has anyone been successful in getting life insurance? I was saddened to be told that I was not eligible due to my transplants when I know my life expectancy is more promising with them vs before with t1d and kidney disease! Advocacy is needed here...

Tagged:

1 - 14 of 14 Other Answers

• MDASOCCERTransplant Patient

I'm a retired insurance broker. The only way to get life insurance after transplant is through one of the final expenses programs. Anything more than $50000 in coverage requires full blown medical underwriting.

April 21, 2021
  • bhameisterTransplant Patient

I have life insurance currently and I am a year post liver transplant. The cost used to come out of our pay checks, but we have since switched over to a new life insurance (along with health, dental, vision, etc.). Luckily we were given the option to continue with them, but just get a bill directly from them each month. I can take this Life Insurance where ever I go. I will probably just stick with them for now.

Do all life insurances have some stipulation on this? Should this be something I look into or just let it be? I haven't heard about this before now. I would be curious to learn more.

April 21, 2021

Keep whatever you can, and if you have a built-in option to purchase more, do so. I purchased my life insurance long before I had a heart condition. I converted some of it after my heart attack.

April 21, 2021
  • KarinExpert
    Transplant Patient

@MDASOCCER Interesting - since medical underwriting will never allow for transplant patients to get life insurance! How do we change this?? @bhameister did you get yours through work before your transplant??

April 21, 2021
  • bhameisterTransplant Patient