Kidney — TransplantLyfe

Kidney

Medicare

KarinExpert
Transplant Patient
June 21, 2023 in Kidney

Did all of you with kidney transplants sign up for Medicare after the transplant or during dialysis?

Tagged:

1 - 11 of 11 Replies

• Sdey0522Expert
    Transplant Patient

@Karin, while I'm no expert on all things related to kidney transplants, I believe most people sign up for Medicare during dialysis. And, it really helps (cost-wise) to be actively covered by Medicare at the time of transplantation.

I'm sharing some articles which provide quite a bit of relevant info.

1. https://www.medicare.gov/coverage/kidney-transplants

2. https://www.medicare.gov/basics/end-stage-renal-disease

3. https://www.myast.org/about-ast/presidents-blog/immuno-bill-passes-after-20-years

I hope these resources help.

Good luck!

Ps. The You Tube link is from a Webinar that I attended - related to cost of drugs covered my Medicare.

June 23, 2023
  • Howanitz39Transplant Patient

I was on Medicare before I had kidney problems because I was on social security disability so I automatically got Medicare after two years of social security disability. But have you heard anything about Medicare stops paying for Immunosuppressive meds after 3 years out of transplant. I heard this from my transplant team that some Medicare will stop paying. 💚

June 23, 2023
  • Berriosa1234Transplant Patient