Donor — TransplantLyfe

Donor

AMA: Should I be a living organ donor?

SharynDonor
November 2, 2022 in Donor

Hi everyone! My name is Sharyn Kreitzer and I'll be hosting an AMA tomorrow here on the TransplantLyfe forum. 

I have been a transplant professional for 25 years. I started as a social worker and then became an outreach and education coordinator and in 2015 I became an administrator for a VA transplant program in the Bronx. I really loved working with the veteran community and in 2020 I created a stand alone nonprofit called DOVE (Donor Outreach for Veterans) to help increase access to kidney transplant for Veterans throughout the US. In the past 2 years DOVE has helped 22 Veterans get a life saving living donor transplant!

After 25 years of working as a transplant professional, I became a I became a kidney donor myself last summer! I'm really proud of this and excited to share my experience with you all and hopefully give you special insight from both perspectives as a professional and patient. Please join the conversation tomorrow or reach out when you can!

Tagged:

1 - 6 of 6 Replies

• ShelbycreatesTransplant Patient

Hi @Sharyn I'm so excited to hear more from you! I loved getting to meet you at the Veloxis Transplant Innovation competition. It was incredible hearing about your foundation. As someone with a dad who is a vet and a husband who is active duty, I really respect what it is that you are doing for the veteran community. These people are the last to ask for help, even when they so deserve it. I can't wait to hear more from you. You are a wealth of knowledge.

November 3, 2022
  • AliEm14Expert
    Transplant Patient

This sounds amazing! I’m so excited to learn more about you and what you do, Sharyn!

November 3, 2022
  • SharynDonor